Education – Canadian Landmine Foundation http://canadianlandmine.org Thu, 21 Jun 2018 22:12:30 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Lloyd Axworthy to be honoured by the Canadian Red Cross http://canadianlandmine.org/lloyd-axworthy-to-be-honoured-by-the-canadian-red-cross Wed, 26 Jul 2017 16:36:04 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=4090 Former federal cabinet minister and University of Winnipeg president Lloyd Axworthy will be honoured later this summer as Humanitarian of the Year, an annual honour given by the Canadian Red Cross. Axworthy, 77, will receive the honour on September 7th at the annual Canadian Red Cross Power of Humanity Luncheon, which will take place at […]]]> Landmines Planted by the Islamic State http://canadianlandmine.org/landmines-planted-by-the-islamic-state Thu, 06 Apr 2017 15:02:03 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3995 The amount of land controlled by the so-called Islamic State (IS) is shrinking quickly in both Iraq and Syria, but the group is leaving behind landmines and dangerous unexploded ordinances that can kill and maim victims. According to the NGO Syrian Institute for Justice, booby-traps and landmines planted by the retreating IS killed 29 people […]]]> Afghan Brothers Develop Drones to Clear Landmines http://canadianlandmine.org/afghan-brothers-develop-drones-to-clear-landmines Tue, 20 Dec 2016 15:10:11 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3898 Mahmud Hassani and his brother Massoud grew up near the Afghanistan border, dangerously playing around fields with buried landmines. Left with the memory of the destruction caused by landmines buried in the 1980s – when Afghan rebels fought Soviet forces – the two brothers now live in the Netherlands and have developed a drone prototype […]]]> Landmine News Roundup, Dec. 6th http://canadianlandmine.org/landmine-news-roundup-dec-6th Tue, 06 Dec 2016 15:49:10 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3895 The News Roundup of the Canadian Landmine Foundation (CLMF) brings together articles from government and media agencies to raise awareness about the ongoing threat of landmines throughout various regions around the world. The information listed here is strictly for educational purposes and the CLMF does not endorse the original source of the content.   According […]]]> The Treaty: A Canadian Landmine Foundation Production http://canadianlandmine.org/the-treaty-a-canadian-landmine-foundation-production Fri, 11 Nov 2016 19:14:58 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3864 THE TREATY from Richard Fitoussi on Vimeo.]]>