Canadian Landmine Foundation http://canadianlandmine.org Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:26:58 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9 Allegations of Russian Use of Landmines in Ukraine http://canadianlandmine.org/allegations-of-russian-use-of-landmines-in-ukraine http://canadianlandmine.org/allegations-of-russian-use-of-landmines-in-ukraine#comments Sun, 13 Apr 2014 02:47:53 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=2623 Mindful of allegations of Russian use of landmines in Ukraine during the escalating crisis, the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL) has called on Russia and Ukraine to make further efforts to clarify the situation in order to make a definitive determination about whether anti-personnel mines have been used. Please click here to learn more]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/allegations-of-russian-use-of-landmines-in-ukraine/feed 0 Ottawa Treaty Update: Mapping the Issues http://canadianlandmine.org/ottawa-treaty-update-mapping-the-issues http://canadianlandmine.org/ottawa-treaty-update-mapping-the-issues#comments Fri, 11 Apr 2014 01:45:58 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=2554 The Ottawa Treaty – also known as the Mine Ban Treaty – was signed in 1997 and has since grown to include 161 signatory states. International efforts to raise awareness of the dangers posed by anti-personnel mines have strengthened tremendously as a result, yet a number of noticeable and significant countries remain outside the treaty.]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/ottawa-treaty-update-mapping-the-issues/feed 0 Women in Mine Action http://canadianlandmine.org/women-in-mine-action http://canadianlandmine.org/women-in-mine-action#comments Mon, 07 Apr 2014 14:58:16 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=2158 Throughout the world, women are becoming more involved in mine action and bomb disposal. Check out this highly educational, interesting and inspiring video from the United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS).]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/women-in-mine-action/feed 0 2014 International Day of Mine Action http://canadianlandmine.org/2014-international-day-of-mine-action http://canadianlandmine.org/2014-international-day-of-mine-action#comments Mon, 07 Apr 2014 14:16:31 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=2150 April 4th is the International Day for Mine Action and Awareness. Click on the image below to check out an interesting post of aggregated Twitter content to discover the buzz and learn about global landmine education and awareness!]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/2014-international-day-of-mine-action/feed 0 CLMF and Siem Reap, Cambodia Pt. 1 http://canadianlandmine.org/clmf-and-siem-reap-cambodia-pt-1 http://canadianlandmine.org/clmf-and-siem-reap-cambodia-pt-1#comments Fri, 04 Apr 2014 20:18:49 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=1781 Situated between Thailand and Vietnam, Cambodia is located in the southern portion of the Indochina Peninsula in Southeast Asia. As a country with a total population of nearly 15 million, Cambodia is today a nation of relative peace. Yet not too long ago, Cambodians were surrounded by war. In 1968, the Communist Party of Kampuchea]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/clmf-and-siem-reap-cambodia-pt-1/feed 0