Canadian Landmine Foundation http://canadianlandmine.org Wed, 22 Jul 2015 02:15:06 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.2.3 Mine-Detecting Elephants http://canadianlandmine.org/mine-detecting-elephants http://canadianlandmine.org/mine-detecting-elephants#comments Wed, 22 Jul 2015 02:13:59 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3459 The Canadian Landmine Foundation follows closely stories about landmine detection around the world. We recently published a few important articles that described the increasing use of rodents in mine clearance efforts, and today we are pleased to share another story that suggests elephants may be the next tool in landmine detection and clearance. José Agostinho, […]]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/mine-detecting-elephants/feed 0 Women in Mine Action http://canadianlandmine.org/women-in-mine-action http://canadianlandmine.org/women-in-mine-action#comments Thu, 16 Jul 2015 13:00:16 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=2158 Throughout the world, women are becoming more involved in mine action and bomb disposal. Living in a country where patriarchy is deeply entrenched, Nazokat Begmatova, a 34-year old woman from a village in southern #Tajikistan, took an unusual professional path as one of the first women deminers. Delaying marriage and strapping on 25 kilograms of […]]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/women-in-mine-action/feed 0 June 1 Fundraiser Update http://canadianlandmine.org/june-1-fundraiser-update http://canadianlandmine.org/june-1-fundraiser-update#comments Mon, 22 Jun 2015 21:51:50 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3443 On 1 June 2015 the Canadian Landmine Foundation held a fundraiser at the Bloor Hot Docs Cinema in Toronto. Some 200 people joined us for a screening of the documentary The Damage Done: An Unflinching Look at the Tragedy of Landmines, followed by a panel moderated by award-winning author and journalist, Sally Armstrong and featuring […]]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/june-1-fundraiser-update/feed 0 Video: The Mine-Sniffing Rats of Africa http://canadianlandmine.org/video-the-mine-sniffing-rats-of-africa http://canadianlandmine.org/video-the-mine-sniffing-rats-of-africa#comments Thu, 18 Jun 2015 13:47:31 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3401 In this short video, Nicholas Kristof of The New York Times visits a minefield in northern Angola, Africa to learn about the use of rats in landmine detection and clearance. For more information, please click here to read the full article. Also follow these links to some of our previous stories about landmine detection animals: […]]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/video-the-mine-sniffing-rats-of-africa/feed 0 Push to Eliminate Landmines Faltering: Axworthy http://canadianlandmine.org/push-to-eliminate-landmines-faltering-axworthy http://canadianlandmine.org/push-to-eliminate-landmines-faltering-axworthy#comments Mon, 08 Jun 2015 14:16:12 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3434 In a recent interview with the Star, former Liberal foreign minister Lloyd Axworthy said that new pariah states, such as Syria, Yemen and Burma, have emerged and are laying dangerous landmines. At the same time, Canada now not only lags behind in world humanitarian aid, but according to Axworthy, “we’re worse: we’re actively getting in […]]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/push-to-eliminate-landmines-faltering-axworthy/feed 0