Canadian Landmine Foundation http://canadianlandmine.org Fri, 07 Nov 2014 14:03:36 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.0.1 Report: Anti-Personnel Landmines Used in Libya http://canadianlandmine.org/report-anti-personnel-landmines-used-in-libya http://canadianlandmine.org/report-anti-personnel-landmines-used-in-libya#comments Fri, 07 Nov 2014 14:03:36 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3218 Credible evidence has emerged that one or more militia groups in Libya recently used anti-personnel landmines during an armed conflict involving a Zintan alliance and the Libya Dawn alliance at Tripoli Airport in July and August 2014. “The use of anti-personnel landmines by any party anywhere is unacceptable … All parties should order their forces]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/report-anti-personnel-landmines-used-in-libya/feed 0 2020studios Wins a 2014 Maggie Award for Best Journalist http://canadianlandmine.org/2020studios-wins-a-2014-maggie-award-for-best-journalist http://canadianlandmine.org/2020studios-wins-a-2014-maggie-award-for-best-journalist#comments Wed, 22 Oct 2014 13:53:51 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3194 Terry Asma and the photo-journalist team at 2020studios was recently awarded the 2014 Maggie award for Best Journalist – Social Justice and Human Rights. In correspondence with the Canadian Landmine Foundation, Terry said: “Katrina and I are excited and humbled beyond words on winning the 2014 Maggie award … [which] would never have happened without]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/2020studios-wins-a-2014-maggie-award-for-best-journalist/feed 0 3500+ Landmines Destroyed in Algeria http://canadianlandmine.org/3500-landmines-destroyed-in-algeria http://canadianlandmine.org/3500-landmines-destroyed-in-algeria#comments Mon, 20 Oct 2014 14:45:21 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3186 Algerian officials recently announced that a total of 3,616 landmines dating back to the colonial era were discovered and destroyed during the month of September by the members of the People’s National Army. The landmines were discovered throughout the eastern and western borders of the country, spanning miles of territory in areas that posed a]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/3500-landmines-destroyed-in-algeria/feed 0 Positive Changes to U.S. Anti-Personnel Landmine Policy http://canadianlandmine.org/positive-changes-to-u-s-anti-personnel-landmine-policy http://canadianlandmine.org/positive-changes-to-u-s-anti-personnel-landmine-policy#comments Wed, 24 Sep 2014 02:35:44 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3175 In his 1994 address to the United Nations General Assembly, then United States President Bill Clinton stated that his country would eventually eliminate its use of anti-personnel landmines (APL). On September 23 this week, the Obama Administration announced further policy changes that bring the U.S. closer to that goal.  According to a White House press]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/positive-changes-to-u-s-anti-personnel-landmine-policy/feed 0 Oman Joins Ottawa Treaty http://canadianlandmine.org/oman-joins-ottawa-treaty http://canadianlandmine.org/oman-joins-ottawa-treaty#comments Thu, 04 Sep 2014 18:32:26 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3133 The Sultanate of Oman has become the latest country to join the Ottawa Treaty (also known as the Mine Ban Treaty), after depositing its instrument of accession instrument at a ceremony at the United Nations headquarters in New York in August. - Oman has taken a big step to ‘Commit to Complete’ by joining the]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/oman-joins-ottawa-treaty/feed 0