Canadian Landmine Foundation http://canadianlandmine.org Mon, 29 Sep 2014 20:41:52 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.0 Positive Changes to U.S. Anti-Personnel Landmine Policy http://canadianlandmine.org/positive-changes-to-u-s-anti-personnel-landmine-policy http://canadianlandmine.org/positive-changes-to-u-s-anti-personnel-landmine-policy#comments Wed, 24 Sep 2014 02:35:44 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3175 In his 1994 address to the United Nations General Assembly, then United States President Bill Clinton stated that his country would eventually eliminate its use of anti-personnel landmines (APL). On September 23 this week, the Obama Administration announced further policy changes that bring the U.S. closer to that goal.  According to a White House press]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/positive-changes-to-u-s-anti-personnel-landmine-policy/feed 0 Oman Joins Ottawa Treaty http://canadianlandmine.org/oman-joins-ottawa-treaty http://canadianlandmine.org/oman-joins-ottawa-treaty#comments Thu, 04 Sep 2014 18:32:26 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3133 The Sultanate of Oman has become the latest country to join the Ottawa Treaty (also known as the Mine Ban Treaty), after depositing its instrument of accession instrument at a ceremony at the United Nations headquarters in New York in August. - Oman has taken a big step to ‘Commit to Complete’ by joining the]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/oman-joins-ottawa-treaty/feed 0 A Safer Future: Innovation in Mine-Action http://canadianlandmine.org/a-safer-future-innovation-in-mine-action http://canadianlandmine.org/a-safer-future-innovation-in-mine-action#comments Fri, 22 Aug 2014 13:37:36 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3128 A Safer Future: Innovation in Mine-Action Tuesday, 20 January 2015 at 09:30 - Wednesday, 21 January 2015 at 23:00 (PST) Royal Geographical Society 1 Kensington Gore London SW7 2AR United Kingdom     The aim of this conference is to bring together policy makers, mine-action organisations, academics,  equipment designers and manufacturers, victim support and international]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/a-safer-future-innovation-in-mine-action/feed 0 Landmines Infesting Zimbabwe Wildlife Sanctuaries http://canadianlandmine.org/landmines-infesting-zimbabwe-wildlife-sanctuaries http://canadianlandmine.org/landmines-infesting-zimbabwe-wildlife-sanctuaries#comments Wed, 13 Aug 2014 14:19:46 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3123 Geoffreys Matipano, a top official from Zimbabwe Parks and Wildlife Management Authority (Zimparks), recently disclosed that most of the country’s wildlife sanctuaries remain unsafe for animals and human beings due to heavy infestation of landmines which were originally placed in ground by the colonial regime during the liberation war. Speaking last week, Matipano told the]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/landmines-infesting-zimbabwe-wildlife-sanctuaries/feed 0 Annual Peacekeepers Day: August 9th http://canadianlandmine.org/annual-peacekeepers-day-august-9th http://canadianlandmine.org/annual-peacekeepers-day-august-9th#comments Sat, 09 Aug 2014 14:16:47 +0000 http://canadianlandmine.org/?p=3117 This picture of a bronze statue at Peacekeepers Park in Calgary shows an armed Canadian Peacekeeper handing an “Izzy” doll to a little girl. While on his United Nations peacekeeping tours, two in the Balkans and one in Kuwait, MCpl. Mark Isfeld took a great interest in the children of the area. His mother, Carol,]]> http://canadianlandmine.org/annual-peacekeepers-day-august-9th/feed 0